Advanced Search
My AccountGiveEmail Sign Up
Mar 5

South Florida Symphony Orchestra: Masterworks III

Zwilich, Mendelssohn, Beethoven & Gottsch

March 5, 2020


Upgrade Your Experience

Event Details

Masterworks III boldly integrates the old classical music and the new, bringing together in one evening preeminent composers of different eras. SFSO is excited and proud to introduce to South Florida audiences two world premieres: Ellen Taaffe Zwilich’s Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, featuring renowned GRAMMY® Award-winning cellist Zuill Bailey. A prolific contemporary composer and Florida native, Zwilich is the first woman to win the coveted Pulitzer Prize in Music. The program kicks off with the second world premiere, by John D. Gottsch, an orchestral symphonic poem that was inspired by the setting sun over Key West.

Continuing on this high note, the orchestra will perform Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 5, known as the “Reformation.” The masterpiece opens with the well-known four-note theme of Mozart’s Jupiter finale, which sets a serious, dignified tone as it leads to the first quiet statement of the Dresden Amen. The 250th Anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven’s birth continues with his The Consecration of the House Overture, commissioned to celebrate the opening of a Vienna theater.

Pre-show lecture in the Amaturo Theater at 7:00 PM

Read More
  • Venue Amaturo Theater at The Broward Center for the Performing Arts
  • Price $40.00 - $90.00
  • Availability Buy Tickets Now

Ticket Policy

NO REFUNDS - NO EXCHANGES. All dates, times, programs, artists and all ticket prices are subject to change at any time without notice. All ticket prices plus applicable service charges. All special offers cannot be combined with other discounts or previous purchases and certain restrictions. Everyone attending must have a ticket.